When the News Isn't Fit to Print ... Blog

NPR’s FIRING OF JUAN WILLIAMS IS AN OUTRAGE

In Weekly Rant on 21/10/2010 at 18:08

UPDATE: JUAN WILLIAMS CALLS FOR DEFUNDING NPR!

The firing of Juan Williams by NPR this week for remarks he made on The O’Reilly Factor is unconscionable and yet one more piece of evidence of how radically insane the Left has become in this country.

I am not a Williams’ fan and, frankly, I think the guy is clueless. For more than a decade now, I have watched him on Fox News defending the very nuts that fired him this week, and I’m amazed that he would be surprised by this latest outrage.

But Williams is usually a fair man. Not always, and especially not in the case of Sarah Palin, but usually. If there were one pundit on the national scene whom I would stake my life is not a bigot, it would be Juan Williams.

This is the quote for which Williams was fired: “I mean, look, Bill, I’m not a bigot,” Williams said. “You know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country. But when I get on the plane, I got to tell you, if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous.”

Let me think about that. Well, yes. When Achmed is in 22B and Abdulla’s in 23A, I’m hoping the metal detector didn’t malfunction. Get Freaking Real! Two words here: Mohammed Atta.

Earlier in the week Bill O’Reilly appeared on the View and caused a firestorm when he commented that Muslim’s killed Americans on 9-11. The comment led to Whoopi Goldberg and Joy Behar walking off the set. And tell me why this is a bad thing? Good freaking riddance. Whoopi, smoke another joint, dear.

Folks, this is our fault. In the 1990s, when Speaker Newt Gingrich tried to defund the Public Broadcasting System, and America went nuclear. Hillary Clinton mounted a “Don’t Kill Big Bird” campaign and Gingrich was forced to back down.

We can set and moan and be outraged all we want, but until Americans decide to stop this insanity, we deserve what we get. National Public Television—and I haven’t checked this for some time—is sucking up $350 million taxpayer dollars a year, and it is 85 percent liberal brainwashing. Jim Henson Productions made tens of millions on Sesame Street while being funded by your tax dollars. The toy franchise alone on the characters is worth a half billion.

Day after Day PBS and NPR continue to air biased programming that flies in the face of every sound American tradition and we continue to fund it. The enemy is no longer Muslim extremism, is us.

When the hell are we going to wake up?

Leave a Reply

