When the News Isn't Fit to Print ... Blog

Doctor, It Hurts When I Do This …

In Obamacare, Weekly Rant on 05/11/2009 at 19:00

I’ve spent hours this week going over everything I could find that will help me understand how Nancy Pelosi’s $1 trillion health care takeover plan will 1) alleviate the high cost of health insurance, 2) assure everyone coverage, and do it 3) without raising taxes.

I found zilch.

This is the first in what I intend to be a series of articles on the underpinnings of Congress’s blitzkrieg healthcare takeover. I am already on record saying that this country does not have a heath care crises so I’ll leave that argument for another day. What I intend to do here is raise questions about the ramifications of such legislation, should Congress and the President succeed in enacting it.

First, let me say that some form of government-run health care reform will pass both houses of Congress, and be signed into law by President Obama by the first quarter of 2010. Secondly, and I think most importantly, once national health care is enacted, no subsequent administration or Congress—Republican or Democrat—will stop it.

Let’s first look at a few government-run successes of the past:

U.S. Postal Service: Lost $2.8 billion last year and is now requesting that Congress reduce service to five days a week. “We are facing losses of historic proportion,” Postmaster General John Potter told that other bastion of financial stability.

Medicare: According to an article in the Weekly Standard dated October 31, 2009, citing reports by the Washington Post and 60 Minutes, Medicare fraud now cost taxpayers $60 billion annually. Nuff said.

Amtrak: Reuters, citing a study by Pew’s Subsidyscope project, reported on October 27, 2009, that Amtrak lost an average of $32 per passenger last year. Amtrak received $1.3 billion in direct payment during fiscal year 2008, and 41 of its 44 lines lost money.

Welfare: I can find no trustworthy government source on the Internet that can give me an accurate figure of the annual cost of welfare fraud to the taxpayer. Why? No one knows. But here is one nightmare account I found by London Spectator-Wall Street Journal writer K L. Billingsley.

Do I really need to give you 50 blow-by-blow breakdowns on the horrors of state-government-run DMV’s?

I think of myself as a political satirist. My humor isn’t for everyone; it’s sometimes cynical and irreverent and even rude; sometimes it’s downright caustic. But, you know, I cannot think of one funny thing to say to anyone who believes that government bureaucracy can give us better, lower cost health care in this country.

Michelle Bachman has organized a “House Call” protest on the east steps of the Capital today. Most of us can’t make that, but we can call and email our congressmen. Call them today. Tell them, if they vote for this budget-busting legislation, that we will get them at the polls next November.

  1. Well, aside from the fact that you’re totally wrong, your post isn’t too bad. In the first place, Medicare is an astonishing success. Just ask any of your relatives who are over 65, and they will tell you how great Medicare is. Amtrak loses money now, but this nation was built on economical rail transportation. If we got smart, we would stop relying on cars and trucks so much and go back to rail transportation. The Postal Service may not make money, but to whom do you turn when you have to send a letter to Aunt Alice in Ass-End-of-Elsewhere, Alaska?

    The police and fire departments don’t turn a profit, either, so maybe we should do away with them! If we served up public services the way we do health care, only dues-paying members of municipal services could get the fire department to come and put out fires or the police department to investigate the arson. Get real!

    I do not want my neighbor to lack health insurance any more than I want him or her to lack fire protection. In the absence of fire protection, if my neighbor’s house catches fire and burns to the ground, that hurts my property values. Furthermore, if the fire department won’t come put out his fire, it will travel to my house.

    If my neighbor lacks health insurance, he or she has to rely on the emergency room for unpaid emergency services that I pay for. Furthermore, my neighbor doesn’t get treated for communicable diseases, they will be passed on to me.

    Mandatory health care coverage is the only fair answer. If some of that coverage is under a government-run plan, I’d sign up in a minute. Wait, I already have a government plan. I have a Medicare care, and I’m damned glad I do!

  2. Thanks for the comment, but health care and transportation are not rights, they are priviledges, and this nation cannot afford to pay your neighbor’s health care bills or send him to Omaha. No business that operates perpetually in the red is an astonishing success. I stand by my post.

  3. […] health care has been a long sought after dream of the progressive movement. Medicare and later Medicaid were the original prototype steppingstones toward the realization of the […]

Leave a Reply

